punishment or trial?: child dengue fever experience (part 1)

when somethin bad happens to us, how do we know if we are being punished or tested?

Saturday, Oct 15th 22: It was when I received my kids mid-term report at school, and I did a (maybe legal but) not ethical thing which immediately I regretted. I’m that kind of person who is hard to deal with guilt. I kept thinking about it and tried to make it up by texting an apology, but it still didn’t stop me to feel bad.

Monday, Oct 17th: My child’s teacher called me, said that my child got cold. Then at night, my child kept moaning of headache. His temperature is around 39.8 – 40.2 C.

Tuesday, Oct 18th: I took him to go to doctor DSA at BWCC Bintaro clinic. Maybe it’s too early to see a doctor, but the lately news about AKI (acute kidney injure) made me uneasy. The doctor, dr Liza, said that fever is rise in body temperature as it fight off an infection. There was possibility of dengue virus but she recommended to take blood test on Thursday (Day 4 fever). She didn’t write me a prescription, but just told me to continue giving paracetamol every 4 – 6 hours.

As we back home and that all night long, he kept groaning pain around crown of his head. Paracetamol did help to lower temperature but the headache was still there.

Wednesday, Oct 19th: I decided to bring him to take blood test as I worried about the possibility of typhoid fever. So, beside full blood count and NS1 dengue test, I got him Widal test. The result indicated negative for widal, but positive for NS1 dengue. Actually, the thrombocyte/platelet 220.000 was still normal (range 150.000 – 400.000), maybe because it was too soon (if you remember doctor told me to do this on Thursday).

I also consulted to online doctor at halodoc app to make sure I wasn’t wrong. Doctor confirmed that my child was infected by dengue virus and need to be hospitalized to prevent dehydration.

At afternoon, since his groaning didn’t stop, I brought him to RSUD Pondok Aren, a new hospital near home. But actually the hospital not ready for inpatient treatment, even so they gave us paracetamol and anti-nausea in powder form.

Thursday, Oct 20th: At noon, we intended to take blood test again at ABC Lab and used the result to get a BPJS referral from first level facility to advance level facility. But after took the queue length, the distance from home, etc. into our consideration, instead of going to hospital as referred in referral letter, we went to Mitra Keluarga Hospital which is only about 1,5 km away from home.

Leave a comment